Anxiety Product Review – Hope and Help for your Nerves

10 02 2010

This is the last article in my series of anxiety product reviews. I will be focusing mostly on the book “Hope and Help for your Nerves” by Dr. Claire Weekes. But I have also listened to her audio programs and read the book “Agoraphobia”.

Hope and Help for your Nerves
Rating: 5/5
Website: Buy it on Amazon
Cost: $7.99
Creator: Dr. Claire Weekes

After years of searching and far too much money spent, I never would have thought that an $8 book would change my life. But it did. Hope and Help for your Nerves is an absolutely amazing book. I have learned more about my body and why it acts the way it does from this book, than from anything else.

This book will help you understand exactly what is happening when you feel anxious. Once you know what is happening, calming your nerves becomes easier. You don’t have to worry that you are dying, or that you are going crazy.

The basic idea in this book is that those who suffer from anxiety are in a “sensitized” state. Your nerves are always on edge, and the smallest things set them off. So the way to recovery is to “desensitize” your nerves. You do this by facing, accepting, and floating through your fear. By facing, accepting, and floating you don’t add second fear to the original fear, which creates a vicious cycle of anxiety.

One of the greatest parts of this book is that it doesn’t promise instant results. It doesn’t promise anything without work on your part. The only way to get better is to work hard and let time pass. But the things that you learn really work, and over time they can and do help you get better.

Another thing that I absolutely love about this book is that it is not just for those suffering from anxiety. There is information for those who suffer from depression, OCD, and many other illnesses.

The only thing that I didn’t particularly like in this book is that it is a bit outdated. Dr. Claire Weekes was a pioneer in the anxiety world in the ’60s and ’70s. So a lot of what you read is somewhat old, and many of the treatments that she discusses are not really in use anymore. But her passion and knowledge of the subject gets you through this pretty easily.

Aside from that one downfall, which is really not that big of a problem, this is the real deal. I have used it and made a massive change in my life and the way I deal with my nervous thoughts. I have used it to help family members begin to overcome problems that they were facing. And I am hoping to continue to use the methods and ideas in this book to help as many others as I can. Because there is nothing better than feeling well.

If you have searched high and low and still haven’t found what you were looking for, read “Hope and Help for your Nerves”. You will not be disappointed.


Actions

Information